Knicks Go have field advantage in Saturday’s Lukas Classic E! News UK


The Korea Racing Authority’s Knicks Go, the top-ranked horse in the NTRA Top Thoroughbred Poll after convincing wins at this year’s Pegasus (G1) World Cup at Gulfstream Park and Whitney (G1) in Saratoga, was named crushing favorite of line 2-5 in the morning. in Saturday’s $ 400,000 Lukas Classic (grade 3) at Churchill Downs – his final test before tackling the $ 6 million Breeders’ Cup Classic (G1) on November 6 in Del Mar.

“He’s a horse that puts a lot of effort into his training and that’s what he did before Saturday’s race,” said trainer Brad Cox. “He’s accomplished a lot this year and we think the Lukas Classic is a good race to go ahead of the Breeders’ Cup. This race does not require him to embark and he can leave his own pit.

Knicks Go (22-8-3-1 – $ 5,368,995) completed a 1½-mile gallop early Thursday morning before training in the paddock at 10 am. Colebrook but did not register a victory under the Twin Spiers.

Knicks Go are set to face five rivals in the 1 1/8 mile Lukas Classic, including the multiple stakes of Juddmonte winning the local breed unspoken. Tapit’s gray son arrived at Coach Bill Mott’s Churchill Downs base earlier this week from Saratoga. Saturday’s race will be the first time Tacitus has competed since finishing seventh in the $ 20 million Saudi Cup (GI) in February.

The Lukas Classic is the eighth race in Saturday’s 11-race schedule. The first post is at 12:45 p.m. EST and the Lukas Classic will be at 4:22 p.m. Named after Hall of Fame coach D. Wayne Lukas, the race shares the Saturday star with the Ack Ack (GIII) goes as Race 10 at 17:26

The full peloton for the Lukas Classic from the rail (with jockey, trainer and morning odds): Chess Chief, winner of the New Orleans Classic (G2) (James Graham, Dallas Stewart, 20-1); Knicks Go (Joel Rosario, Cox, 2-5); Tacitus, who wins $ 3.7 million (Jose Lezcano, Mott, 5-2); Multi-stakes Shared Sense winner (Brian Hernandez Jr., Cox, 15-1); Pegasus World Cup third Independence Hall (Javier Castellano, Michael McCarthy, 10-1); and the winner of West Virginia Governor (G3) Sprawl (Joe Talamo, Tommy Drury Jr., 12-1).

Bets are available at, the official ADW of Churchill Downs Incorporated and its family of racetracks.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.